Inspired by Dawn McVey (Poofy Flowers)

   Wish I could blame my lack of recent posting on the fact that I have a new little one, but I can’t!  He’s absolutely a dream baby and his big brothers love him so.  I have kind of spun myself into this web of thinking that my creations don’t measure up (to what?!?!) and that I should abandon my blogging efforts.  It’s a bit hard to get started at this, but I do have to try.  My husband is so incredibly supportive and has been the cheerleader who made me come back.  Goodness, do I love him!   I think I may need to make some time to re-read The Creative Life by Alice Bass.  In the past, it helped me put my creative fears and blocks into the right perspective.  Okay, enough of me.  On to an inspired creation… 

  Don’t you just love Dawn McVey?  She seems so real and perky and friendly- and her cards are, too!  She is full of color and creativity and has such an unpretentious way of sharing.  Well, recently she’s done some tutorial videos on her blog.  Awesome.  I loved her instruction on making these poofy button flowers.  Her button centers were much bigger, which I think I like better, but I only had one purple button in my whole stash- and it was a bitty one!  I think some shopping is in order, don’t you?  Dawn’s tip on purchasing a cheapy vintage book and using the pages is so clever. 

  Dawn also did a video on lining up background stamps, which I found helpful.  I honestly didn’t think my technique would change before watching the video, but it really did.  She shows how to line up the stamp first, then line it up on your block, and how to line it up so it stays straight on your paper.  Love the procedure and attention to detail!  I had a bunch of fun just stamping some patterns on 11 x 4.25 cardstock while my boys colored one afternoon.  It’s so great for me to create in pieces like that.  If you haven’t yet, you should surely check the video out! 

supplies:  Papertrey Ink cardstock (vintage cream, lavender moon, dark chocolate) and stamps (Polka Dot Basics & Background Basics: Retro), Versamark ink, EK Success scallop punch, Ranger stickles (silver), Book print, Button, DMC floss. 

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

