Inspired by Debbie Seyer (“XOXO” card)

  So, as I was reading over the January/February 2010 issue of PaperCrafts, my eye was (more than) caught by this beautiful card.  It was my favorite card in the whole issue, and it only got a little peek of a photo as it was included in the “online content” section.  It was made by Debbie Seyer, who designs for Spellbinders. So excited to find someone new to me to glean inspiration from.  

  Well, I {heart} Nestabilities and was so excited to run out and buy the Dahlia set after seeing Debbie’s card.  I have running wish list of the sets I want and usually wait until Hobby Lobby has their 40% off coupons going.  Dahlia wasn’t one I would have really considered before seeing Debbie’s creation, but I’ve used it left and right since I purchased it a few weeks ago.  Since I loved so much about the card, I decided to stick pretty much to a direct copy of it. 

supplies: Papertrey Ink cardstock (ocean tides, kraft),ink (ocean tides), stamp (Mega Mixed Messages), and ribbon, DCWV patterned paper (The Green Stack), Spellbinders dies (Dahlia and Labels 4). 

  I had some trouble embossing the flowers after cutting them on my Cuttlebug, mainly because I had to transfer them to another plate and it kind of popped them out of the dies.  I really wanted to redo it, but my husband was waiting patiently for me and I am battling some perfectionism, so I am just going with it.  I love the way the ocean tides color works with the red, and that little mushroom paper makes me smile.  Thanks for peeking in.  Hope you have an inspired day! 

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

