You’re So Sweet

  Not only does today’s creation make me giddy to look at, but (more importantly) it was just an awesome experience to put together.  You see, I try to incorporate my boys in a lot of the crafting and creating that I do.  My attempts usually end with me frustrated (I am a control freak) and them disinterested (they are 3 & 4).  But every now and then they exhibit some signs of enjoyment that makes my heart leap… the best was when my 4-year-old asked my husband if he was considering any masking or resist techniques while painting our bedroom.  Giddy, I tell you.  So anyway, I got the idea to frame the cupcake image in a candy shop window type of scene from one of the boy’s I Spy books.  The picture is a “sweet shoppe” with lots of different candies and such scattered and in it you have to find particular hidden items (just in case you’re not familiar).  I sat down with the book and showed them how to draw a sketch from the picture in the book, and then went on to ask them help me figure out what we should use to represent each element of the sketch.  It was so stinkin’ cool to show them how creativity can work from the beginning of an idea through to the end result.  They love to look at the picture in their book and compare its elements to the card we made. 

 Besides my sweeties, parts of this creation were inspired by the current Around the House Challenge at Everything But the Kitchen Sink.  The challenge was…. (drumroll): StringLove me some string.   

Sorry for so much babble before the pic!  Here she is:

  

 See how the scalloped bit sticks out like a candy shop awning?  That was so fun!  The string (just DMC floss) represents columns on either side of the store front “window”, and it’s gathered by the string threaded through the buttons.  Ah.  I need some sugar now.  Hope you get some, too.  Thanks for looking!

{supplies}

  • Paper: PTI (kraft, white, raspberry fizz, dark chocolate)
  • Stamps: PTI (cupcake collection, polka dot basics II)
  • Ink: PTI (lemon tart, raspberry fizz)  Tsukinenko (jumbo java, versamark)
  • Accessories: DMC floss, buttons, embossing powder
Tagged , ,

4 thoughts on “You’re So Sweet

  1. Karen B. says:

    Loved the story about you creating with your boys, mine often like to help as well! And when they see it on my blog, they get so darned tickled, it makes me laugh each and every time! Anyway, to your creation, it is a lot of fun, fun colors!

  2. Your card is ADORABLE! Love your use of string for the challenge! :)

  3. Winter says:

    Too cute! I love the little awaning! Clever idea! Thanks for playing with us in the EBTKS challenge! :)

  4. Courtney says:

    Wow fabulous use of string! Thanks for playing EBTKS!

Leave a Reply

