Happy Retirement

  Hey there & thanks for hoppin’ by tonight.  Hope you’re enjoying a nice day of rest on this beautiful Sunday… more rain for us here in the Midwest, but that’s the way I like my spring!  Anywho, here’s my little creation for this month’s hop:  (the “assignment” was to use tissue paper)

    I had lots of intentions of trying something beautiful, but the reality was that I needed to make this retirement card for my father-in-law and, well… I was married to the idea of a mountain, and thought it would be appropriate to have some clouds up there.  Nothing fantabulous by the way of tissue paper, but I like it just the same. 

  My favorite part is actually the “hazy” background – its vellum dry embossed on a woodgrain texture plate!  It reminded me so much of the time we spent in the Pacific Northwest hiking and a little storm would roll in and suddenly we couldn’t see 5 feet in front of us!  Talk about rain!  Ah, I love it. 

  Okay, enough rambling from  me – you’ve got lots of blogs to check out!  I really appreciate you visiting tonight!

 {supplies}

Paper- PTI rustic white, ocean tides, white, kraft; vellum

Ink- Tsukinenko jumbo java

Stamps- PTI mega mixed messages

Accessories- DMC floss, MM eyelet, tissue paper, PTI new leaf grosgrain ribbon, staples

Tools- Fiskars woodgrain texture plate

Tagged , ,

48 thoughts on “Happy Retirement

  1. Mariana says:

    What a beauty! I love your clouds and the woodgrain as a background! So original!

  2. Rosanne says:

    What a great card! Love the tissue clouds!

  3. Anika says:

    Great card! Love the ribbon treatment and that mountain!

  4. liz says:

    I love the clouds! they’re cute! And I like that you used the woodgrain plate for your sky background. I had to do a double take to figure out how you did it!

  5. Lindsay says:

    How cute is this?! I just love it! The sentiment is so appropriate!

  6. Jen Carter says:

    This is a great retirement card. Like how you used the tissue paper!

  7. Laurie W. says:

    How fun! Love those clouds!

  8. Dana says:

    Awesome clouds and mountain Susan! I like the BG too, makes it really seem hazy…

  9. meg spaulding says:

    Very cool and fun card! Love it!

  10. Marge R. says:

    What a clever and cute card!!!

  11. Carol R says:

    This is so cute! Your FIL will love it because it is NOT a frilly card. Great idea!

  12. Barbara says:

    How ingenious!! Your FIL will love this!

  13. peggysue says:

    What a fabulous idea using the woodgrain template for the sky, you’re right, storms do move in suddenly and the sky is never really flat . . . except on a hazy Midwestern day! Great retirement card, I like the mountain image, retirement is just the beginning with new peaks to explore.

  14. Amy Smith says:

    Super cool! I love all the texture!

  15. Karen B. says:

    First, you’ve got a lovely new profile picture. Second, overall cool card. And lastly, your woodgrain template for the sky-wonderful and original!!

  16. Terri E. says:

    Fun cloud idea. I also like that you dry embossed it as well. Way to rock the tissue paper challenge.

    It’s a good life!
    Terri E.

  17. Diane says:

    This is such a creative use of tissue paper (and the brown bag mountain ;), I really LOVE it!

  18. Chris says:

    Great idea for a retirement card. And you’re right – the hazy woodgrain-embossed vellum is fab!

  19. Amy says:

    Cool card!!

  20. Kelly Marie says:

    This is so fun! I love it!

  21. Deb C says:

    Very clever!!!

  22. Daniela says:

    This is so fun!!!!

  23. Gayatri says:

    What a fun card. love the tissue cloud. Great idea!

  24. Shay says:

    I love this fun and original card! Your father-in-law will love this retirement card. And great use of the tissue paper!

  25. Oh that vellum sky IS awesome! Your card is so perfect for a retirement card…peaceful, serene, and adorably clever…glad you married that idea and stuck with him, hee! Great job on the hop!

  26. BethieJ says:

    This is GREAT! What a fun idea!! Your FIL will love it!
    Happy Hopping!

  27. Cheryl says:

    Wow! This card is extraordinary! I love the mountain idea, and the wood grain is just perfect for the sky. I never would’ve thought of that.

  28. *giggle* “Nothing fantabulous by the way of tissue paper, but I like it just the same.” I think it came out great, and that FIL will appreciate it too! great use of the tissue!

  29. Elizabeth S. says:

    Such a great card! Love the woodgrain background.

  30. Karen C says:

    What a great card! The background vellum is fabulous!

  31. Janelle says:

    Great card. Love the woodgrain background as the sky — and the tissue paper clouds are fabulous. And, being a displaced Pacific Northwesterner, love your story about the rain there. Funny, the card had already made me think of home in Oregon before I even read your post. :)

  32. Kerri M says:

    What a clever little scene! I too love the textured bg!

  33. Patty Thomas says:

    Cute tissue clouds! What a cute card. Love the texture background and it is a very nice masculine card. Turned out great!

  34. Karen H. says:

    Very cool – love the tissue clouds!

  35. KimberlyS says:

    It’s great! My favorite part is the ribbon “grass” on the mountain. I love it!

  36. Christi says:

    the mountain is a great idea!!
    fantastic card – he’ll love it

  37. I love your sweet little tissue paper clouds. I’m sure your father-in-law will love it, Susan.

  38. Silke Ledlow says:

    Super duper cute idea and card!!! Love the mountain and the tissue clouds!!! Hugs ~S~

  39. Oh I love the woodgrain texture on the vellum! Having grown up in the NW, this card has me feeling a bit homesick!

  40. Karli says:

    I love the woodgrain as the background! What a great idea :) TFS!

  41. Cute tissue clouds! Love it!!

  42. Cammie says:

    What a great retirement card!

  43. Linda W says:

    Very nice. I’m sure he’ll love it. It was very thoughtful and creative.

  44. Babies- Beth says:

    I like those clouds, but I love the vellum on a impression plate, wow, what a great idea!!

  45. Rebecca says:

    LOVE LOVE LOVE this! So amazingly inspirational!

  46. Pam W. says:

    Oh my goodness. Using the tissue for the clouds is such a clever idea. I bet your FIL will love this card.

  47. Jennifer K says:

    Wow! What a neat card. I like the clouds and how you used the woodgrain impression plate.

  48. Taheerah says:

    Really cool, love the colours on your card and those fluffy clouds!

Leave a Reply

