Happy Mother’s Day!

  Hope you’re gearing up for a fun (hopefully relaxing!) weekend… My birthday actually falls on Mother’s Day this year, so I’m anticipating a good time!  Here’s a card I made for my mother-in-law.  I used Dawn’s colors from her current Color Cue, and BOY OH BOY was it a toughie for me!  I seriously made like 3 cards, none of which had anything goin’ on.  After some time of looking at this one, I’m satisfied.  But this color combo surely threw me a curve! 

 It may be difficult to see without zooming in, but I stamped a little circle in the middle of each flower to tie in the blue and repeat the circles. I loved using the woodgrain stamp to heat emboss the background – I did it after stamping the large dots and sentiment to avoid getting a resist.  My little border strip fills in for a row of missing dots and is velum with a border punch just threaded through a slit in the side of the card.  Thanks for taking a look today & hope you are celebrating the mothers in your life! 

{supplies}

Paper: PTI stampers select white, velum

Stamps: Gelatins Right Round, WPlus9 Woodgrain Silhouettes & Woodgrain Silhouettes Additions

Ink:  PTI melon berry, spring rain, summer sunrise, Versamark

Accessories: Buttons, DMC floss, clear embossing powder

Tools: EK success border punch

4 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day!

  1. Karen B. says:

    So beautiful and pretty, I wouldn’t have thought it would take three tries. You make it seem so effortless. Nice creation with Dawn’s stamps.

  2. Lorena says:

    What a beautiful card! Congrats on being featured on the Wplus9 blog!

  3. I love your card. You did a wonderful job with the color challenge. I really like the softness and the simplicity! Great job…..:)

  4. Shauna says:

    oh wow, is this ever beautiful! I have a thing for circles and polka dots right now, and your card hits the perfect spot :-)

Leave a Reply

