PTI May Blog Hop!

Hey there!  Quickie post for  me today… all 3 boys are sleeping and I know they’re going to wake up any minute.  Ah, the anxiety!  Okay, I made 2 cards for the hop because I “felt” my first attempt wasn’t too creative.  Here ya go:  (By the way, the challenge was to use felt). 

 

On number one, I die cut a piece of brown felt (cheapy stuff, not PTI) and placed it behind the focal image.  The pattern piece is actually fabric, not paper, hence the funny looking texture in the photo.  Oh, if you zoom a bit, you’ll see that I colored in those little dots on the butterfly and around the leaves with my *new* copics.  That was fun.  I’m so excited to start using big girl markers!  Behind the felt are 2 sweet blush buttons, and I used some light pink floss to complete my pink trio. 

Okay, so for number two (another butterfly?!?), I used more of my cheapy felt.  I found that it gets kinda wooly when you stretch it a bit so I thought that added a fun texture.  I then doubled it up and tied it with more of that pink floss.  My butterfly (please don’t hate on my lack of coloring skills :)) has a body made of stickles, but that’s tough for you to see.  I adhered the colored wings to a second stamped image and curled the wings a bit.  I wanted those dots to be a bit more staggered, but it is what it is.  For today at least. 

Enough of my rambling…hop along now!  I’m really looking forward to what everyone came up with.  Thanks for stopping by tonight (or tomorrow, or next week) & huge thanks to PTI for inspiring all this creativity and sharing.  What an awesome hobby.  Night. 

{supplies}

CARD #1

Paper: PTI Spring moss & Vintage Cream

Ink: Tsukineko Jumbo Java

Stamps: PTI Round & Round

Accessories:  PTI Buttons, Moda fabric, DMC floss, Copics, felt

  

CARD #2

Paper: PTI Kraft & Vintage Cream

Ink: PTI Fresh Snow, Palette Noir

Stamps: PTI Round & Round, Birthday Basics, Hero Arts Butterflies

Accessories: Stickles (diamond), DMC floss, Copics, felt

 

Tagged ,

34 thoughts on “PTI May Blog Hop!

  1. Jen Carter says:

    Wow!! Both times you used the felt you did a wonderful job! Love it as the focal image’s background and as a “ribbon”!

  2. bonnierose says:

    fabulous creations!

  3. Tonya Dirk says:

    Love both of your cards!

  4. Laurie W. says:

    Both great cards! Love the tied felt! Cute idea!

  5. Terri Moore says:

    Nice job on both of them.

  6. Diane says:

    Beautiful and creative cards, love what you did with the felt border on the second card!!

  7. BethieJ says:

    Such PRETTY cards!
    HAPPY HOPPING!!

  8. Samantha says:

    Both of your projects are adorable! I love the border on the second card!

  9. Carol R says:

    Pretty cards! Like the way you added the felt to the second card.

  10. Marge R. says:

    I like your creative first card — LOVE them both actually!!! ;-)

  11. Rosanne says:

    Terrific cards!

  12. Amy says:

    That second card is my favorite……the felt as a “ribbon”!!

  13. Sara Mac says:

    Two great cards. I really like how you stamped a few of the bg dots behind the butterfly on the second card. BTW, since you asked, the HL felt cannot compare to PTI’s felt. It’s much thinner and flimsier. PTI’s felt is thick and cuts wonderfully without fuzzies or falling apart.

  14. Terri E. says:

    Both are very interesting ways to use felt.

    It’s a good life!
    Terri E.

  15. Tanya says:

    Very pretty cards, love them!!

  16. Elizabeth S. says:

    Beautiful cards!! Love them both!

  17. Lauren says:

    These are both GREAT cards, but I really love that first one! It’s so pretty! Love that fabric too!! By the way, I only have the cheapy stuff too. ;)

  18. Sue Plote says:

    I love the felt and fabric combination. Such lovely cards!

  19. Wow! What fresh ideas… I am totally gonna tie up some felt with twine! Love it! Beautiful work!

  20. Amy G. says:

    Really like what you did with the felt on these, especially the stretched-out look. Both cards are great!

  21. Jackie Pedro says:

    Great cards! I like how you tied the felt with the floss on the second card!

  22. Christina M says:

    Both lovely projects, but I really love the way you tied the felt on the second card. Very pretty!

  23. KimH says:

    These are both cute projects. I like the way you tied the felt on the second card, that’s very cool!

  24. peggysue says:

    What sweet cards, especially like the butterfly theme!

  25. Sara Spencer says:

    Great cards! I got mine done during nap time today. Can be stressful but oh so fun. =)

  26. Mariana says:

    Great job, they are lovely cards!

  27. Vera Yates says:

    Great simple cards. :)

  28. kim wilson says:

    Wow! Both cards are amazing but the second is my fav! Great job!

  29. Cammie says:

    Great cards! I really like the felt ribbon on the second!

  30. Ooooo a felty sway, so pretty with the butterfly! Loving the colors on the first card, too…great job!

  31. Jenny says:

    Gorgeous cards love them!!! :) :) :) :)

  32. Chris Simon says:

    Great details on both cards! I love the tied felt, the polka dots in the background, the fabric on the first card. Thanks for sharing!

  33. Taheerah says:

    Gorgeous cards, you really used felt as a perfect accent!

Leave a Reply

